United Arab Emirates

Home » The UAE » Overview 

The United Arab Emirates consists of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Umm al-Qaiwain, Fujairah, Ajman and Ra’s al-Khaimah. Four-fifths of the UAE is desert but has contrasting landscapes from the towering red dunes of the Liwa to the rich palm-filled oases of Al Ain, from the precipitous Hajar Mountains to the more fertile stretches of its coastal plains.


Though small in size, the UAE has become an important player in regional and international affairs.


In 1971, the late president Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan unified the small, underdeveloped states into a federation the only one in the Arab world. With his visionary leadership, oil wealth was used to develop the UAE into one of the world’s most open and successful economies.


In 2004, His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan became president and has since continued to strive towards an ambitious vision for the UAE.



Please use the contact form to send us your inquiries. We will respond to your requests in a timely manner.


Contact Us >>





Tel: +43 1 715 0028

Fax: +43 1 715 0028 - 5555

E-mail: general@uae-iaea.org

Facts & Figures

Full Name: United Arab Emirates (UAE)


Political System: Political System: Constitutional Federation (Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al- Qaiwain, Ra’s al- Khaimah and Fujairah)


National Day: 2nd December 1971


Founder: The Late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan


President: H.H. Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan (Ruler of Abu Dhabi)


Vice President & Prime Minister: H. H. Sheikh Mohamed bin Rashid Al Maktoum (Ruler of Dubai)


Other Rulers:


Sharjah: H. H. Dr. Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi.

Ajman: H. H. Sheikh Humaid bin Rashid Al Nuaimi.

Umm al-Qaiwain: H. H Sheikh Saud bin Rashid Al Mu’alla

Ra’s al-Khaimah: H. H. Sheikh Saud  bin Saqr Al Qasimi

Fujairah: H. H Sheikh Hamad bin Mohammed Al Sharqi


Area: 83,600 Sq. km.


Location: Bordered to the North by the Arabian Gulf, to the East by the Gulf of Oman and Sultanate of Oman, to the South by Saudi Arabia and Sultanate of Oman and to the West by Qatar and Saudi Arabia.


Geographic Coordinates: 22. - 25.5 North and 51 - 56.5 East.


Climate: Arid Desert, cooler in the eastern mountains. (Winter: warm & sunny / Summer: hot and humid)


Elevation Extremes: Arabian Gulf 0 m, Jabal Yibir 1, 627 m


Natural Resources: Oil and Gas


Population: 8.19 million, 16.5 % Nationals (est.2010. The National Bureau of Statistics, UAE)


Capital: Abu Dhabi


Largest City: Dubai


Monetary Unit: UAE Dirham 1AED = 100 Fills


Exchange Rate: 1 USD = AED 3.67 (Pegged to the US Dollar)


Fiscal Year: 1st January to 31st December


Weekend: Friday and Saturday


Official Language: Arabic


Other Languages:  English, Farsi, Hindi, Urdu


Religion: Islam (Practice of all religious beliefs is allowed)


Literacy rate: 93%


Timezone: GMT +4


International Dialing Code: +971


Internet Domain: ae



For more informaiton, visit the official portal of UAE Government: http://government.ae/en

Globalized and Open

In just over three decades, the nation has transformed from a tribal culture reliant on agriculture and fishing to an entrepreneurial success story with world-class infrastructure. The leadership has improved education (effectively eliminating illiteracy), advanced health care and embraced change as the UAE modernizes, consistent with its history and cultural values.


The UAE is also strengthening institutions of government to ensure a transparent legal system with full regard for the quality of life of all citizens and residents. Four members of the Federal Cabinet are women.


The UAE is a member of the United Nations, the World Trade Organization, the Arab League and the Gulf Cooperation Council.


Today the UAE is a strong, vibrant and modern nation that is open to the world.